Happy Memorial Day weekend! The weather in Boston has been very summer-like…and you’ll hear no complaints from me. While I love cooking, the summertime calls for simple, lighter meals that don’t involve much stove-time. Don’t you agree?

Not only do I crave colder foods, I also want to maximize my time outdoors (especially after working in an air-conditioned office all day). Salads are a great option for this time of year and they are so versatile.

I wasn’t recently catching up on one of my favorite food magazines, Cooking Light, and found this recipe for Bell Pepper, Tomato and Cucumber Grilled Bread Salad. I immediately folded over the page. Not only is this dish easy, it’s light and involves using the grill (another summer favorite, although I use an indoor grill right now).¬† Another plus…it includes BREAD.

Just as I suspected, I loved this recipe. The veggies were delicious mixed with the light dressing and grilled bread (I used a wheat baguette). Mixing bread into a salad just makes life better. The recipe suggests adding grilled shrimp or chicken as an option. I had the salad vegetarian-style the first night and, for lunch the next day, I added tuna for a little protein. It was a great addition.

If you’re looking for a salad that’s a little different but still easy and delicious, give this one a try. The bread alone will win you over.

PS РLast year, I made a delicious Panzanella Caprese Рanother bread salad. With fresh mozzarella cheese, tomatoes, basil and bread, it was a perfect Italian-style summer meal.

