What a heat wave we’re having on the East Coast! It’s so hot in my apartment, I can’t even think of cooking. But, last week, when it was a bit cooler, I cooked up some Honey Soy Chicken Kabobs – in my oven!

Kabobs are so versatile – and such a summer staple. They are easy to prepare and grill – or roast, in my case. I do have an indoor grill but sometimes it’s just easier to use my oven. Call it laziness, I guess! :)

I created this recipe from one I read online a while ago. I had a bunch of the ingredients I remembered so I just went with it. This chicken turned out moist and the sweetness of the veggies paired perfectly.  Now we can have kabobs all year long!

Here’s my recipe:

Honey Soy Chicken Kabobs

Makes 4 kabobs

Ingredients:

2 – 3 chicken breasts, cut in cubes

2 Tbsp. vegetable oil

3 Tbsp. honey

3 Tbsp. reduced-sodium soy sauce

1 clove garlic, minced

Salt and pepper, to taste

1 sweet onion, cubed

1 red pepper, cubed

Four wooden skewers

Preparation:

  1. Preheat oven to 350*
  2. Mix oil, honey, soy sauce, garlic and a little salt and pepper in a bowl to create marinade.
  3. Put chopped chicken in a plastic Ziploc bag and pour marinade over chicken.
  4. Refrigerate chicken and marinade for at least 30 minutes.
  5. When ready, add chicken and vegetables to wooden skewer – alternating between chicken, onion and red pepper.
  6. Put skewers on baking sheet and roast in over for 12-15 minutes or until juices from chicken run clear.
  7. Enjoy (with a side of brown rice)!