Happy Mother’s Day! Today I prepared brunch  for 12 of my family members. It’s not very often that I get to cook for many people so it was a (fun) challenge. We celebrated the day at my parents’ house which meant I was able to use their kitchen (more space than in my apartment). I really enjoyed trying some new recipes and spending the day with my family.

My brunch menu consisted of: Cooking Light’s Lemon Blueberry Muffins, Fruit Salad, Bagels and Cream Cheese, Nicoise Salad with Dijon Dressing, Cooking Light’s Pork Tenderloin with Dried Cranberry Sauce, Crepes (with toppings), Scrambled Eggs, Roasted Potatoes, Healthy Cooking’s Bacon Twists (recipe below), and Ultimate Black Bean Brownies.

First Course:

Mother's Day 012

Second Course:

Mother's Day 013

I’d have to say that out of the entire brunch my favorite items were the Lemon Blueberry Muffins, Crepes and Bacon Twists. I’ll definitely make these again!

The recipe for the Lemon Blueberry Muffins makes 12 regular muffins but I wanted to make mini ones. I followed the orginial recipe, which made about 30 mini muffins. Each batch took about 10 minutes to bake and came out light, fluffy, golden and delicious.

Mother's Day 009

The Crepe recipe came from a cooking class I recently took at the Cambridge Culinary Institute (recipe to be posted soon). At first it’s a little tricky to get the hang of making the crepes but they’re actually easy plus they cook fast and are really yummy!

 Mother's Day 018

I served the crepes with a Mixed Berry Compote (mix two cups of berries with two teaspoons of sugar), Chocolate Sauce and Fresh Whipped Cream.

Try the Bacon Twists too – a nice change from regular bacon.

Recipe: Spiced Bacon Twists

10 center cut bacon strips 

1/4 c. packed brown sugar

1-1/4 tsp. ground mustard

1/8 tsp. ground cinnamon

1/8 tsp. ground nutmeg

Dash of cayenne pepper

1. Combine spices and rub on each side of the bacon strips.

2. Twist bacon to make twirls. Place strips on 15″ x 10″ x 1″ baking pan.

3. Bake at 350 degrees for 25 minutes. Bake a bit longer for crispier bacon.

They are so simple and very tasty. The recipe was in this month’s Healthy Cooking magazine.

