I went out to dinner again last night. Not that I’m complaining. 😉 

This time it was to my favorite pizza and salad place, Za in Arlington. The menu is unique but simple – they only serve pizza and salad. All items are created with fresh (and mostly local ingredients), which I love. I’ve been to Za a bunch of times and, in the past, have always ordered the amazing cucumber salad (and I mean amazing). This salad is a combo of lots of cucumbers, kalamata olives, tomato, feta cheese, radishes and sits on a layer of smooth potato salad. I know it sounds kind of weird, but it’s sooo good. Anyway, enough of tooting the horn of the cucumber salad.

Last night I branched out and tried a new salad. I was sure I wouldn’t like it as much as my beloved cucumber salad but I am surprised to report I love my new salad just as much! I can’t believe it. How can I love salad this much? My new favorite consists of avocado, black beans, tomato, onion, lots of shredded cheddar cheese, and jalapeno pepper. It’s mixed with a cumin-lime vinaigrette dressing and topped with crumbled tortilla chips and a “dollop” of sour cream. Here’s a photo mid-chow down:

salad 

The menu at Za consists of a standard menu plus a specials menu (that changes with the seasons to provide the freshest ingredients). Lucky for me, my two favs are on the standard menu (phew!).

Ok, onto the pizza. The pizzas are 10″ and differ from the typical pizza shop offerings. I’ve seen specials through the years with toppings that include apples, walnuts, figs, asparagus…anything you could imagine! In the past I’ve tried their chicken and broccoli pizza and the mac ‘n’ cheese one (yep, you read that right!). Both were tasty but my favorite so far has been one I’ve created on my own. They have a list of ingredients to choose from if you choose to design your own pizza. Last night, I created my own for the second time – homemade sausage and roasted red peppers (not orginial, I know but delicious!). And I had leftovers! Here’s a photo:

 pizza

 My friend and I enjoyed Za – it’s just so great and I hope to go back very soon!

(Sorry about the quality of the photos. My camera battery died so I had to use my phone.)

