Last night, I finally cooked dinner (rather than continue my dining out trend). I’ve been craving shrimp scampi, weird, I know, so that’s what I made.

plated

Shrimp scampi is normally not very healthy in restaurants becuase of the refined carbs (white pasta), loads of butter, and the portion size – usually enough for the whole table. One of the nice things about cooking at home is the ability to see what actually goes into your meals and modify the ingredients as you see fit.

I had bookmarked a few shrimp scampi recipes on allrecipes.com but in the end, I created my own. I have to say, it was delicious! As you can see in the recipe below, I used whole wheat pasta which contains more fiber than white pasta, used olive oil instead of butter for healthy fat (and less saturated) and added tomatoes.

It took me less than 20 minutes to prepare and cook dinner (which is great because Thursdays are usually my long day at work) and it was of restaurant quality – if I do say so myself. 😉

 

cooking shrimp and pasta

shrimp

Here’s the recipe:

Quick and Healthy Shrimp Scampi for Two

Adapted from multiple recipes at allrecipes.com.

Serves: 2

Prep and cook time: 20 minutes

Ingredients:

4 oz. whole wheat spaghetti

1/4 c. olive oil

2 cloves garlic, minced

1/3 lb. fresh shrimp, peeled and deveined

1/3 c. white wine

1/8 tsp. black pepper

10 cherry tomatoes, quartered

1 tbsp. fresh lemon juice

2 tbsp. grated reduced fat Parmesan cheese

1 tsp. chopped fresh parsley

Directions:

1. Bring a pot of water to a boil. Add spaghetti and boil uncovered until al dente.

2. While spaghetti is cooking, add olive oil to a large sauté pan over medium heat. Add garlic and cook for one minute.

3. Add shrimp and stir while cooking 4-5 minutes, until shrimp is pink.

4. Add wine to sauté pan and bring to a boil for one minute. Stir in tomatoes and lemon juice. Sprinkle pepper on mixture. Continue to stir for one minute.

5. Drain pasta well. Add pasta to dishes and top with shrimp mixture, including the sauce. Top with Parmesan cheese and fresh parsley.

Enjoy!

For those who are interested, I am estimating that there are about 450 calories in this meal, which is a good amount for a dinnertime meal.

