I am so aggravated with Comcast (my cable and Internet provider) right now! I came home from work to find both my cable and Internet out of service. What?! I swear I am on the phone with Comcast more than I even watch TV. Of course they couldn’t help me over the phone so a technician needs to make a visit during my work hours (fabulous). Honestly, I don’t blame the customer service reps because they are only doing their job but Comcast is not my friend. Luckily, my grill is!

A couple Christmases ago, I received a Cuisinart Griddler, which is great. See, Santa does listen. (Maybe I should ask for working cable and Internet this year!) 😉 The Griddler is a table top grill/panini maker/griddle all in one. Pretty cool, especially for those of us in apartments (it’s compact!).

Tonight, I made (with modifications) the Grilled Ciabatta sandwich from June’s Cuisine at Home (great magazine!).

518 018

518 017

The recipe makes 8 servings so, because I was eating solo, I cut that down to 2 servings (one for leftovers, of course). I try to incorporate leftovers as much as I can so I can get two meals for the work of one. I also didn’t have fresh mozzarella cheese so I used provolone and I used a hearty multigrain bread instead of ciabatta – to be a little healthier. So, wa-la, here’s my Grilled Ciabatta Multigrain sandwich creation:

518 014

 I know, I know. Not as pretty as Cuisine at Home’s version but still really yummy. It was a little messy to eat but totally worth it!

Here’s the recipe:

Grilled Veggie Sandwich on Multigrain (Obviously, I can’t decide on a name)

Servings: 2

Time: 20 minutes

Ingredients:

4 slices of hearty multigrain bread

1 red pepper, sliced into strips

1 zucchini, sliced lengthwise into 1/4 inch strips

1 yellow squash, sliced lengthwise into 1/4 inch strips

1 small red onion, slided into strips

2 Tbsp. extra virgin olive oil

2 Tbsp. pesto (pre-made or store bought)

2 slices of Provolone cheese

Salt and pepper to taste

Preparation:

1. Preheat grill to medium high.

2. Brush olive oil on both sides of vegetables and sprinkle with salt and pepper

3. Grill vegetables until tender (3-8 minutes depending on vegetable and grill power).

4. While grilling veggies, brush olive oil on both sides of the four slices of bread. Grill for 1 minute on each side.

5. Remove vegetables and bread from grill.

6. Spread pesto on two slices of bread, top with onions, peppers, squash and zucchini. Top with cheese and other slices of bread.

Enjoy!

Here are some pictures of my creation in the making….

518 007

518 008

518 010

518 012

518 016

