I hope you all had a nice long weekend. Overall, the weather was great in the Boston area. I was lucky to see a lot of my friends and some family this weekend. I even saw friends who were visiting from Washington, DC. It was nice to have a little extra time off too! On Sunday night, my roommate and I hosted a cookout. We have a nice roof deck so it was great to hang out there and catch up with everyone. We asked our friends to each bring a dish and everything was delicious! We had quite the variety: guacamole, pico de gallo, spinach dip, veggies and dip, chips, fruit salad, potato salad, pasta salad…all the staple cookout foods.

Our contribution were the hot dogs and hamburgers as well as a variety of beer and I also made sangria (I modified the linked recipe, my recipe is posted below). For beer we bought a few summer flavors – my favorites right now is the new Harpoon UFO White and Magic Hat #9. The UFO White has an orange flavor and is very refreshing. Magic Hat #9 is a pale ale with an apricot flavor.

The sangria started out as a recipe from allrecipes.com but I changed it a bit and increased the quantity to 18 glasses (from 6). It was very tasty and was nice switch from my normal favorite, traditional sangria with red wine.

525 012

Here’s my version:

Raspberry-Peach “White” Sangria

Servings: 18

Ingredients:

2 liters white wine (I used Pinot Grigio)

1.5 c. peach schnapps

1 container of frozen lemonade concentrate, thawed

1/2 c. white sugar

1 c. frozen raspberries

Preparation:

1. In a large pitcher, mix together wine, peach schnapps, frozen lemonade and sugar.

2. Stir until sugar dissolves.

3. Add frozen raspberries and chill 2 hours.

4. Serve (with or without ice) and enjoy!

 

In addition to sangria, I made Raspberry Oatmeal Bars for dessert. I actually didn’t realize the raspberry theme until now! One of our friends also brought eclairs and whoopie pies. Yum! Or should I say whoopieee?! 😉

The Raspberry Oatmeal Bars were so quick and simple to make! I followed the recipe but made a few slight modifications (surprise, surprise!). I used lemon cake mix (instead of yellow) and replaced the margarine with applesauce (for health reasons). I also added a few splashes of milk to the mix to get the batter to stick. They were really tasty and could (almost) pass for a breakfast treat!

525 010

Here is my modified recipe:

Raspberry Oatmeal Bars

Servings: 24

Ingredients:

1 – 18.25 oz. lemon cake mix

2.5 c. quick cooking oats

3/4 c. natural applesauce (no sugar added)

3 Tbsp. milk

1 c. raspberry jam

1 Tbsp. water

Preparation:

1. Preheat oven to 375*. Grease 8×8 inch pan with cooking spray.

2. In a large bowl, mix together cake mix, oats, applesauce and milk. Stir until there is no dry mix left. The mixture should be thick but moist.

3. Coat the bottom of the pan with 2/3 of the oats mixture.

4. In a small bowl, combine the jam and water until smooth. Add the jam mixture to the pan as a layer on top of the oats.

5. Sprinkle remaining 1/3 of oats mixture over the raspberry jam.

6. Bake for 18-20 mins.

7. Cool completely before cutting.

8. Enjoy!

525 004

525 003

525 005

525 006

525 008

