Last night, I met my cousin for dinner at Joe Fish in North Andover. It’s a nice, casual restaurant with ocean-themed decor. I’ve been to this restaurant once before and they have awesome lobster rolls! In fact, they come in three sizes (I think the largest is a few pounds!). I’m kind of picky about lobster rolls because I don’t like them with much mayo – just a little is fine with me – and that’s how Joe Fish’s are. Anyway, I was thinking of getting a lobster roll for dinner but it was cold and dreary so I decided on a hot meal instead. I don’t understand how it’s almost June yet it feels like early spring. Luckily the sun should be back tomorrow!

525I decided on the Baked Haddock Florentine for dinner. It was a good size piece of haddock topped with a spinach and cheese mixture and crunchy breadcrumbs. I was able to choose two sides so I went with the garden salad with vinaigrette and rice pilaf. The garden salad came first, with rolls! It was a high quality version of a typical garden salad (fresh lettuce, cucumbers, cherry tomatoes, and onions) but the dressing was very tasty! I think it had peppercorns in it too, yum! The multigrain roll was also excellent – warm and fresh.

The haddock was good (I’m giving it a 8 out of 10). I wasn’t crazy about the spinach and cheese mixture and would have preferred spinach topped with a little goat cheese instead of the creamy spinach flavor. The meal was tasty, don’t get me wrong, but I think changing the spinach and adding tomatoes would make it outstanding! Maybe that’s just me and my love of tomatoes (and dislike of any type of cream sauce). The rice pilaf included mixed vegetables which was a nice surprise.

Overall, a flavorful and filling meal. I drove home stuffed to the gills! 😉

