Hope you had a good weekend. I spent it in NYC for my friend’s bachelorette party. It was a fun and busy weekend! I thought we might run into Prince Harry who was in town as well but no luck! 😉 I plan to write a review of the weekend later today (we ate a two excellent restaurants!) but in the meantime, I thought I would share a recipe with you.

A while back (pre-blog), I saw a recipe and photo for Cooking Light’s Greek Greens & Sweet Onion Pie in one of my cookbooks and decided to give it a shot. I really enjoy the Cooking Light magazine and have two or three of their cookbooks as well. This recipe is low calorie but doesn’t taste light. Instead of regular pie dough, this pie using filo dough. I took a cooking class with my mom last year and worked with filo dough for the first time. It’s easy to work with but it’s important that you’re careful so the thin sheets of dough don’t rip.

This recipe makes four servings at about 300 calories per serving. I would recommend it for lunch or a light dinner. The flavor is excellent (I love spinach and feta cheese!) and the filo dough adds a nice, little crunch.

Here are some photos:

Cooking Light's Greek Greens & Sweet Onion Pie!  

The inside!

Note: If you have leftovers and choose to reheat a piece of the pie in a toaster oven, be sure cover it with tin foil and stay nearby to watch it. The filo dough burns easily otherwise  and I was lucky to find that out at work — oops!

