I so needed to go grocery shopping yesterday. After a weekend away, if I don’t buy groceries and get back to reality, I end up continuing my food vacation (aka eating whatever I want). Having fresh fruits and vegetables, milk, yogurt, lean protein and whole grains available at home means I’m more likely avoid take out and eating out. I also save money by cooking at home and taking my lunch on most days. So, yesterday I decided what to make for the week, made a grocery list and stopped at Market Basket on my way home from work. I am a fan of Market Basket for their prices alone. The selection is good too but most people go for the cost savings more then anything. Don’t get me wrong I do love to splurge at Whole Foods too but I can’t afford to do all my grocery shopping there (a girl can dream).

Stepping down from my soap box, last night I made quick quesadillas. The recipe is actually adapted from two recipes I recently saw – one was for Spinach & Chicken Quesadillas in this month’s Real Simple and the other was in my “5 Ingredient 15 Minutes” cookbook from Weight Watchers. I don’t follow Weight Watchers but the cookbook is good for easy healthy and interesting meals. I also like that many of the entree recipes also suggest a side dish recipe. It just does all thinking for me. 🙂

601 089

Quick & Easy Stuffed Quesadillas

Servings: 2

Ingredients:

2 whole wheat tortillas (I used the Joseph’s brand, 70 calories each)

½ c. low fat shredded monterey jack cheese

1 c. raw spinach leaves

2 oz. cooked chicken breast (I bought a rotisserie chicken at the store and used that meat)

¼ c. diced tomatoes

½ c. canned black beans, drained

¼ c. cooked corn

Preparation:

  1. Spray a large pan on medium heat with cooking spray, add one tortilla.
  2. Sprinkle some of the shredded cheese on one side of the tortilla then top with half of the spinach, chicken, tomatoes, black beans and corn.
  3. Top the fillings with additional shredded cheese.
  4. Fold the other half of the tortilla over the fillings and press with a spatula to flatten.
  5. Cook for 2 minutes then carefully flip the filled tortilla. Cook for another 3 minutes.
  6. Remove from heat and let cool for 2-3 minutes before cutting into three triangular slices.
  7. Enjoy with a dollop of light sour cream and salsa on the side (optional).

Note: Repeat this recipe to make the second quesadilla as you will have half of the ingredients leftover.

Estimated calories: 350 (not including salsa or sour cream)

601 083

601 085

601 086

601 087

601 091

While at the grocery store, I picked up some Jalapeno tortilla chips, made by a company called Food Should Taste Good. I’ve seen their chips for a while and have always loved their packaging (I’m a marketing girl, what can I say?). Plus, what better to go with my quesadillas then some tasty new chips? I’m not usually one to go for spicy things but lately I’ve been trying more spicy foods. I now buy medium salsa (instead of mild) and apparently jalapeno flavored chips. 😉

601 090

I was excited to try them because they have no trans fat, are all natural, low in sodium, are without preservatives and are gluten-free (my Dad has Celiac Disease so I always notice if products are without gluten). I actually expected these chips to be spicier then they actually were (probably a good thing for me!). I liked the chips immediately but was curious to why they weren’t too spicy when I realized they really did have a kick to them – a delayed kick, but a kick.  I’m looking forward to trying other flavors, especially because I noticed the company is local and I’m a big supporter of local businesses/food whenever possible.

