Between long days at work and a commute that is less than ideal, cooking a gourmet meal on a weeknight is not something I’m normally in the mood for.  Sure, it’s fun once in a while, but most nights I’m looking to make something that’s both quick and healthy. I invited my brother over for dinner last night to make “homemade” pizzaAnd, who doesn’t like pizza?

610 018

While I would have liked to make my own dough and sauce, I took the easy way out. I bought whole wheat pizza dough at Whole Foods (for $2.99!) and organic tomato and basil marinara sauce (also for $2.99). We were going to make one 12″ pizza but decided to make two individual pizzas instead. I topped mine with garlic, marinara, low fat mozzarella cheese, tomatoes, onions and red peppers. My brother is the cheese man in our family and not surprisingly, topped his with olive oil and two kinds of cheese – low fat colby jack and low fat mozzarella. (His is the oval pizza below, if you couldn’t tell. It made me laugh.)

610 014

610 015

610 016

We cooked them in the oven at 450* for 12 minutes then dinner was ready! Quick and easy I tell you!

Results…

610 017

610 019

 The pizzas came out great. The whole wheat dough has a nice flavor to it while still tasting like pizza (aka: not too healthy tasting!). The veggies were cooked to perfection and blended well with the cheese and sauce. I have the leftovers for lunch today, can’t wait!

