Yesterday was one of my best friend’s bridal showers and I was asked to make cupcakes for the occasion (hence the cupcake post a few weeks ago). While I received some great recipes that I have to try (and sifted through a few of Martha Stewart’s ideas), I decided to go with classic cupcake flavors, chocolate and vanilla. They came out very well (phew!) and the guests enjoyed them.

629 025

Here’s a recap:

Chocolate Cupcakes with Vanilla Buttercream

For the chocolate cupcakes, I used Chocylit’s recipe for Devils Food Cupcakes. They were easy to make and came out light and fluffy.

I topped these cupcakes with vanilla buttercream frosting from a recipe that my aunt recently gave me. It was quick to make and the flavor was light and not too sweet. The texture of the frosting was smooth and it went very well with the chocolate cupcakes.

629 022

Here’s the recipe (thanks, Auntie Mary Ann!) –

Vanilla Buttercream Frosting

Frosts 48 cupcakes (that’s my guess as I had a lot leftover after frosting 24)

Ingredients:

1 c. butter
1 c. Crisco shortening
2 c. granulated sugar
2 c. whole milk
2 Tbsp. flour
2 Tbsp. vanilla

Preparation:

1. Add flour to milk and bring to a boil. 

2. Remove from heat as soon as first bubbles appear and stir frequently so mixture doesn’t stick to pot. Set aside to cool.  

3. Blend butter and Crisco for 4 minutes with hand mixer.

4. Add sugar blend for 4 minutes.

5. Add vanilla and milk mixture to the above mixture and blend for a final 4 minutes.

6. Frost cupcakes and enjoy!

Cupcake prep photos:

629 008

629 010 629 011

 

Frosting prep photos (I used my heart shaped tablespoon for the occassion):

629 015

629 018

629 023

 

Vanilla Cupcakes with Raspberry Buttercream

The recipe for these vanilla cupcakes came from Jennifer at the Creative Confectionery Blog. These cupcakes were a bit denser than the chocolate ones but came out great and tasted similar to the flavor of sugar cookies (that’s a good thing in my book).

629 024

I topped the vanilla cupcakes with a Raspberry Buttercream frosting from Sammyw, seen here. This frosting was super easy (only three ingredients – butter, raspberry jam, powdered sugar) and was perfectly sweet and sugary. As the recipe states, add powdered sugar to your preference for consistency and taste. I only used three cups, rather than the four to six and it came out awesome. This amount of frosting easily covered 24 cupcakes.

Cupcake prep photos:

629 001

629 003

629 005

629 006

629 009

Frosting prep photos:

629 019

629 020

629 021

These cupcakes were fun to make (and decorate) and were a great addition to my friend’s special day!

