Remember my post last week on pantry meals, based on an article for Cooking Light? No? Well…last night I made the delicious Sautéed Tilapia with Lemon-Peppercorn Pan Sauce. I had everything I needed for this (healthy) recipe at home except for the tilapia filets and a lemon. Of course I had to go to Whole Foods to get the few ingredients I needed. I love Whole Foods! 🙂 I only spent $20 which may be a record for me. Normally I go in for a few items and come out with two bags. Oops.

71 009

This meal was quick and easy and only cost me about $7 (excluding the ingredients I already had at home). The recipe calls for butter so I used Smart Balance to be healthier. I think you could easily substitute olive oil as well. I also used whole wheat flour instead of regular. Oh yeah, and instead of green peppercorns, I used capers. The recipe suggested to pair the dish with white rice but I wasn’t in the rice mood (I would have used brown rice if I was) so I made a side of Brussels sprouts instead (recipe below). I know, changes, changes.

Overall, this was a healthy and flavorful meal. I actually made two filets and extra Brussels sprouts so U had leftovers lunch today and I have to say it tasted just as good, maybe even better. What a nice surprise!

Here is some photos and the Brussels sprout recipe for your enjoyment…

Tilapia prep photos:

71 001

71 002

71 004

71 006

71 007

71 010

Roasted Parmesan Brussels Sprouts

Servings: 2

Ingredients:

20 Brussels sprouts, halved lengthwise

2 Tbsp. olive oil

1 clove of garlic, minced

ground black pepper, to taste

Parmesan cheese, grated, to taste

Preparation

1. Preheat oven to 350*.

2. Spray baking sheet with cooking oil.

3. Spread Brussels spouts on baking sheet, coat with cooking spray.

4. In a bowl, mix olive oil and garlic.

5. Using a pastry brush, coat Brussels sprouts with olive oil mixture.

6. Top with ground black pepper.

7. Bake 5-7 minutes then remove from oven and turn the Brussels sprouts over.

8. Bake for another 5-7 minutes, until roasted.

9. Toss with Parmesan cheese.

10. Enjoy!

Brussels Sprouts prep photos:

71 003

71 005

71 008

For “dessert,” I had dried mango. Whole Foods made me buy some! 😉 It was pretty tasty for dried fruit…

71 011

*****************************************

Tell me, tell me…what’s your favorite fish dish?

