Hope everyone had a good 4th! I am happy to report that the consistent rain has finally left New England. Yes! I’m hoping for a more summer-like July. I spent the weekend in Maine and, overall, the weather was great…blue skies and sun. We had the occasional shower but I’m okay with that as long as it’s mostly sunny. 🙂

76 003

I always tend to fall off the healthy eating wagon when I’m away and this weekend wasn’t too different. My meals were a tad larger than normal and I probably had a treat or two every day. However, we did do quite a bit of walking and I ran a 4 mile race on Saturday in York, Maine. My unofficial time was about 42 minutes and I ran the entire race. Woohoo! I have to say the sun is great until it’s beating down on me when running – it was HOT. I was happy to have a little ocean breeze, that’s for sure!

Starting Line:

76 002

Me, steps from the Finish Line:

76 004

During our weekend getaway, my family and I walked to Perkins & Perkins Wine Café in Ogunquit for a drink and a little appetizer before dinner on Saturday. We have driven by this place for years but have never stopped in. I’m glad we did this past weekend because it was a lot of fun and the food/drinks were awesome.

Perkins & Perkins is a wine bar/café plus a wine shop. The casual wine café has outdoor seating for about 20 people and the wine shop carries over 300 wines. In addition to a large wine list, the café offers a good selection of appetizers as well as a few entrees and specials. Here’s the menu.

My dad and I tried local red wines, my mom had the special (two white wines on ice with a lime) and my brother chose pinot grigio. Our wines were about $8 each. All were very tasty but my mom’s drink was especially refreshing for a summer afternoon.

76 007

For apps, we decided on the Mini One Cheese Plate – a cheese selection of our choice (we chose Provolone) served with bread, apple slices and grapes. We also ordered the Red Pepper Hummus Plate which was served with tortilla chips, pita bread and carrots. They knew my dad had celiac so the waitress brought out a side dish of gluten-free rice crackers for him – a nice touch. The hummus was homemade and very flavorful. Both appetizers were $7 each.

76 005

76 006

While we were enjoying our wine and appetizers, we witnessed several other menu items being served including Lobster Bruschetta, Coconut Shrimp and Homemade Blueberry Pie with Vanilla Ice Cream. Perkins and Perkins had several specials the night we were there as well as about five desserts on the menu. If you’re in the Ogunquit, Maine area this summer, check it out!

