What would summer be like without ice cream? I don’t think I’d survive. Ok, well maybe I’m exaggerating a little but I do love ice cream. I have a lot of childhood memories of taking drives after dinner to get ice cream for dessert. Of course, as a child, I was carefree about calories and fat  (those were the days). I would get a sundae if my parents would let me and I almost always chose ice cream over frozen yogurt or sorbet.

42-15600383

Now that I’m older I am more focused on a balanced diet. While I still love ice cream (and dessert in general), I try to only have  it on occasion and if I’m going to have a treat, I try to eat healthy for the remainder of the day. I know I sound like a party pooper but I just really like food and know that eating everything in moderation is key for my health (and waistline). This means I normally order a small ice cream or frozen yogurt, sometimes with chocolate jimmies (aka sprinkles).

For those of you who are looking for tips on enjoying ice cream this summer while not ruining your diet, check out this Health Castle article, 4 Ice Cream Parlor Survival Tips. The article is clear and simple and while it’s common sense to some, it’s really a good reminder to everyone who wants to enjoy frozen treats without going overboard.

If you’re in the Boston area, you probably know of JP Licks. I think they have one of the best ice cream and frozen yogurt selections around. They always have dozens of flavors including a handful of hard and soft yogurt selections available for your enjoyment. Two of my favorites are the peanut butter hard yogurt and the chocolate chip cookie hard yogurt. Both could easily pass for the REAL stuff!

