Happy Monday, everyone! So while I did take a nice walk to a farmers market this weekend as planned, I was sad to discover that most of the vendors were packing up 45 minutes before the market was supposed to end. I was eyeing some baked goods and some cool-looking yellow carrots but ended up walking home empty handed. Next time, I might try a larger farmers market or go a bit earlier.

713 001

But, all was not lost. I did make a trip to the grocery store and loaded up on lots of vegetables (some even local). For lunch on Saturday, I whipped up the Heirloom Tomato Salad with Herbs and Capers from Cooking Light. It was delicious and super easy to make.  It’s just a mix of olive oil, balsamic, tomatoes, capers, cheese, and parsley. While I wasn’t able to find green or yellow tomatoes, I did use a couple varieties of red ones. I followed the recipe to a T except I halved the recipe and used goat cheese instead of feta. I also served it with some Tuscan whole wheat bread from Trader Joe’s.

713 007

To go along with my tomato dish, I finally made some of Kath’s kale chips. I have seen Kath make them multiple times and she always raves about them. This recipe is also super easy and they really do taste like thin and crunchy potato chips. I know, sounds weird, right? I was skeptical putting the first one in my mouth but I was quickly a fan. I did over cook them a bit but I like dark russet chips so I guess it’s similar, right? 😉

713 004

713 008

713 009

Summer has finally arrived here in Boston! I was able to spend a lot of time outside this weekend which was great. Hope you saw some sun over the weekend too!

