I recently read an article titled “Our Lose 5 Pounds in 7 Days Diet” on Health.com. I was skeptical at first (seems too good to be true, right?) but I would like to lose a few pounds (before my upcoming vacation to Maine and my friend’s wedding) so I read on. 

I have been reading about nutrition for a few years now and I have a pretty good sense of when a diet seems like a fad and how to make healthy choices. The article was basic and short but when looking at the meal plan, I realized the “diet” doesn’t look so bad. I was expecting to see a lot of celery and broth-based soups but the week-long menu includes waffles, sandwiches and even pasta (all whole grain-based, of course). The daily calorie count is low (1,200) but it’s considered to be the healthy minimum when it comes to nutrition. So, I decided to try to diet, sorta…

While I can’t afford to buy every single ingredient for 21 meals plus 7 snacks, I thought it would be interesting to select a handful of recipes to use for the week and repeat them to better utilize my groceries. And, because I’m planning to exercise daily, I’ll eat a bit more than 1,200 calories a day. I like this meal plan because it’s balanced (includes healthy fats, whole grains and lean proteins) and something I can stick to.

On Sunday night, I made the Sauteed Shrimp and Broccoli with Nutty Brown Rice recipe (shown as dinner on day 5 of the meal plan). I also had this meal for lunch on Monday. It was very tasty and more flavorful than I would have guessed (quick and easy too!). I was expecting to need the addition of soy sauce or something but it wasn’t bland at all. The only change I made was adding a little spinach to the mix. Yum!

713 010

713 011

713 012

713 013

For dinner last night and lunch today, I made my version of the Turkey Wrap. I used a whole wheat wrap and added sliced turkey, half an avocado, a few cherry tomato halves and a sprinkle of goat cheese. I enjoyed it with a side of green grapes. The meal was healthy and filling. I love avocado – it makes anything taste good to me!

713 014

713 015

So far, this article and meal plan has been helpful in jump-starting my healthy eating, and hopefully I’ll lose a few pounds, too! I’ll be sure to report back on any additonal recipes I try this week. I’m planning to make a few more so stay tuned…

