I was in Maine over the weekend again and visited the Stonewall Kitchen company store on my way back to Boston. I’ve mentioned Stonewall Kitchen before, when I made blueberry sour cream coffee cake a few months ago. They are based in York, Maine and offer a wide variety of jams, sauces, marinades, baking mixes, dips and other kitchen supplies. The company store is fun to check out because they offer samples of many of their products plus there is a cafe on site.

While I was there on Saturday, they were giving out samples of their Sesame Garlic Chicken Salad. Made with their Sesame Garlic Dressing, the cool chicken salad was very tasty and a perfect dish for a hot summer day. I was sold on the spot! I bought a bottle of the dressing, grabbed the recipe and recreated the dish last night to bring to work for lunch this week. It was very simple to prepare as the recipe only calls for a handful of ingredients (chicken, cucumber, scallions, mandarin oranges, dressing) and about a half an hour of your time.

810 017

I followed the recipe as it was written and just added sliced almonds to the salad (instead of cashews or sesame seeds as noted). The chicken dish is very flavorful and could work for lunch, a dinner salad or even a BBQ side dish. I decided to leave the lettuce out of the mix this time but that’s the beauty of this recipe – being able to create it to your liking and serving it a few different ways.

810 006

810 007

810 014

810 015

810 009

810 010

810 012

810 016

Hope you’re having a great Monday!

