We are in the middle of a serious heat wave here in Boston. It’s supposed to be 95* and humid today! Of course, I’ve been in the AC at my office all day so I can’t complain (plus it’s better than snow!). However, this past weekend was the same way. I felt like cooking on Sunday but dreaded putting my oven on for too long since my apartment was as HOT as it was. I started flipping through my cooking magazines for a “cool” recipe and, voila, I bring you Cuisine at Home’s Garden Gazpacho.

817 008

This recipe comes from the August 2008 edition of the magazine. I love Cuisine at Home for a number of reasons but especially for the unique recipes and tons of photos. The recipes are always interesting, with a mix of simple and more complicated ones, and the photos are colorful and include the process as well as the final product. I like to know I’m on the right track when I’m cooking so I always go for cookbooks and magazines with photos.

The gazpacho was very simple to prepare (you’ll need a food processor) and now I have enough for the whole week. It has a nice classic flavor with a hint of each vegetable in every bite! If you’d prefer a spicier soup, just add more Tobasco until the flavor is right.

Cuisine at Home doesn’t post their recipes online so here it is.

Garden Gazpacho

Source: Cuisine at Home

Servings: 5 cups

Ingredients:

1/3 c. red onion, chopped

2 Tbsp. capers

2 c. tomatoes, chopped

1/2 c. cucumber, chopped

1/2 c. celery, chopped

1/2 c. red bell pepper, chopped

2 cans V-8 juice (5.5 oz. each)

1/4 c. fresh parsley, chopped

2 Tbsp. red wine vinegar

1 Tbsp. Worcestershire sauce

1/2 tsp. paprika

1/2 tsp. kosher salt

1/2 tsp. Tobasco

2 c. ice cubes

 

Preparation:

1. Mince onion and capers in food processor.

2. Add tomatoes, cucumbers, celery, and bell pepper and pulse to mince. Transfer to a bowl.

3. Stir in V-8, parsley, vinegar, Worcestershire, paprika, salt, and Tobasco.

4. Add ice cubes and let stand until ready to serve. Remove any remaining ice cubes before serving.

5. Enjoy!

817 001

817 006

Note: Cuisine at Home suggests serving this soup with its olive-pesto grilled cheese but it’s also great topped with cheese with a few bagel chips on the side.

