I know, I know. I’ve been missing for several days. I blame technology. My computer was under the weather last week so I wasn’t able to blog. But, I now have my buddy back and it’s as good as new!

So I’m a bit bummed because the summer has completely flown by. I had so many ideas for summer activities and places I wanted to see but really, where did the time go? A lot of kids are back in school already and it’s even cooled down here a bit in New England. You really can’t get bored with the weather around here. We started the summer with about 27 days of straight rain in June, followed by lower than normal temperatures mixed with nice days in July, and an August that started out beautiful and ended very (very!) humid. I don’t know how I would do living in San Diego or somewhere where the weather is nice and sunny all the time. What would we talk about?

825 019

As a result of the not-so-perfect summer weather, tomatoes aren’t having the best year. They are favorite of mine because they are tasty and are so versatile, especially in the summer. There are so many varieties of tomatoes (plum tomatoes are my all time favorite) and they work well in salads, as side dishes and even as entrees.

I recently saw a recipe on RealSimple.com for Herbed Tuna in Tomatoes. I always used to make tuna with a little light mayo, celery and ground pepper. It’s a classic way to prepare tuna but I know, Y-A-W-N. I’ve always read that tuna can be mixed with olive oil instead of mayo but I thought it would lack moistness (is that a word?). This recipe from Real Simple is a nice change from my typical tuna and it’s delicious. I used large heirloom tomatoes for this dish and had it for dinner last week. It was very flavorful and very filling. This recipe is quick to prepare – just like the magazine, it’s Real(ly) Simple.

825 015 825 016

825 018

