My grandmother is excellent at organization. She has an immaculate house and always has. She also keeps great records of our family – from articles to photos to recipes. My grandmother has created a scrapbook (sometimes multiple scrapbooks) for each of her kids and grand kids.

Last year we began talking about all the recipes that she had collected over the years – including those from her mother, aunts and friends. In fact, for my birthday last year, (at my subtle request) she gave a scrapbook packed with dessert recipes. Some of the recipes are from my family members while others are just recipes my grandmother found in the newspaper and liked.

Last week she surprised with me a new scrapbook of recipes. This time the book contains more entrees than desserts. I now have my aunt’s macaroni and cheese recipe, my great-grandmother’s chicken and rice recipe and my mom’s recipe for peanut butter ice cream pie.  This week I made one of the recipes from the new book, Chopstick Tuna.

904 014

This is essentially a tuna casserole and it’s delicious! I’m a big casserole person because it always provides leftovers. I’m not a huge fan of leftovers in general but not having to cook every night and still eating a homecooked meal has it’s benefits! Maybe my Dad’s love of leftovers is rubbing off on me.

904 018

Anyway, this Chopstick Tuna recipe is easy to throw together and it’s very tasty. Honestly, I think the flavors melded together overnight and the next day the tuna dish was even better. I love when that happens. Not only is this recipe quick and simple, it’s pretty budget-friendly too. I followed the recipe below and only made minor changes. I added sliced almonds instead of cashews and used a round baking dish because I didn’t have the size pan that the recipe calls for. Try out this recipe on a busy weeknight; you won’t be disappointed.

Chopstick Tuna

Servings: 4

Ingredients:

1 can  condensed cream of mushroom soup (I used 99% fat free)

1/4 c. water

2 c. chow mein noodles

6 oz. can white tuna 

1/2 c. toasted cashews (I used toasted sliced almonds)

1 c. celery, sliced

1/4 c. chopped onion

Dash of black pepper

 

Preparation:

1. Combine soup and water.

2. Add one cup of chow mein noodles, then tuna, celery, cashews, onion and pepper.  Toss lightly.

3. Place in ungreased 10x6x1.5 baking dish.

4. Top the mixture with remaining noodles.

5. Bake at 375* for 15 minutes or until thoroughly heated.

6. Enjoy!

904 009

904 010

904 012

904 017

 

