This past weekend was a busy one! On Saturday, friends and I went to the Phantom Gourmet Food Festival in Boston. The Phantom Gourmet is a local TV and radio show that chronicles restaurants and other food “experiences” in New England. They always show so much food on every episode that I get hungry just watching it. In addition to the weekly show, the Phantom Gourmet hosts several food events each year. This is actually the first one that I’ve been to.

927 001

The festival was located on Lansdowne and Ipswich Streets in Boston, right next to Fenway Park. The Red Sox were in NY this weekend so the area was open to festival-goers only. I’ve been to food festivals before but this one was one of the best. There were 80 vendors, music, beer tents and all the food you can imagine. The only downside of the festival was that I filled up so fast I didn’t get to try everything I would have liked.

927 002

927 005

Here’s a list of my favorite vendors and their specialty (what they gave out as samples on Saturday):

Wholly Cannoli – Dynamite Bites (smooth cannoli filling dipped in caramel then chocolate)

927 006

Black Cow– Creamy coffee oreo ice cream

927 013

Sandbar Grille– Conch fritters (with a spicy aioli) – fresh and flavorful though the sauce was a little too spicy for me

Upper Crust – Thin crust pizza with the perfect amount of cheese and sauce

Spike’s Junkyard Dogs – Texas Ranger Dog (100% all natural beef hot dog with barbeque sauce, cheddar cheese and bacon on a freshly baked roll)

My friend Holly and I enjoying Spike's!

My friend Holly and I enjoying a perfect portion of Spike's!

Wicked Whoopie’s– Moist chocolate whoopie pies with sugary filling  

Next time, I would make it a point to try items I haven’t had before. For example, I’ve had Spike’s hot dogs and Upper Crust pizza before so I would not try those again (knowing I already like them) and save room for something new instead. I wish I had come up with that plan originally.

There was food for everyone at the festival, though limited options for vegetarians and those with food allergies. If you like Italian sausage, The Sausage Guy (yes, that’s the company’s name) was giving out full-size sausages. I’m glad I passed on that one – talk about filling!

Now back to normal eating patterns…but first…

Attention cookie lovers: Check out another Boston-area blog, Healthy & Sane run by Elina, for a chance to win a free cookie mix. They look really good!

