The fall flavor theme continues today with Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies. I’ve seen a lot of recipes for pumpkin chocolate chip cookies online but most were described to have a cake-like texture. I was really looking for a cookie that would turn out as a soft-in-the-middle, crunchy-around-the-edges chocolate chip cookie with a hint of pumpkin flavor.  

1002 009

Oh and a healthy recipe would be a bonus. I know it was a lot to ask but I did find a winning recipe for Egg Free Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Cookies on Allrecipes.com. The reviews were great and there were no mentions of the treat being reminiscent of cake (not that cake is a bad thing but I’m a cookie girl first). I made a few changes to the recipe to make it healthier and also halved the recipe.

I baked these cookies over the weekend to bring to a gathering at my friend’s house. I make sure that when I’m baking, I have somewhere to bring the treats otherwise I eat everything myself overindulge! Can you relate? 😉

These cookies are eggless, a benefit for anyone with an egg allergy or intolerance. They turned out delicious, full of spice and flavor! Regarding the texture, the cookies were a bit more cake-like than I had wanted but they were moist and tasty so I can’t complain. I think addition of pumpkin makes anything and everything fluffier. I guess I can deal with that. If you’re looking for an easy cookie recipe for fall, this is it.

 1002 010

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies

Adapted from the recipe for Egg Free Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Cookies

Servings: 24

Ingredients:

1/2 c. white sugar

1/4 c. brown sugar

1/2 cup shortening

1/2 (15 ounce) can pumpkin puree

1 tsp. vanilla extract

1 c. all-purpose flour

1. c. whole wheat flour

1 teaspoon baking soda

1 teaspoon ground cinnamon

sprinkle of nutmeg

6 oz. dark chocolate chips

 

Preparation: 

1. Preheat oven to 375*.

2. Cream together sugar, shortening, pumpkin and vanilla. Mix until light and well combined.

3. In a separate bowl, mix the flour, baking soda, ground cinnamon and nutmeg. Add flour mixture to creamed mixture and mix until combined. Stir in chocolate chips.

4. Drop by teaspoons onto an ungreased baking sheet. Bake for 10-13 minutes. Let cookies cool on a rack before serving.

5. Enjoy!

1002 006 1002 007

1002 008

What is your favorite fall dessert? What is your least favorite?

Apple crisp is probably my all-time favorite (a la mode, of course). Least favorite: pumpkin pie. After all my pumpkin talk, can you believe I don’t like pumpkin pie? I know it’s the healthiest pie option but it’s a texture thing for me. 😉

