Boston has been so chilly this week! Brr. I just hope it’s just a temporary thing because I’m not a fan of winter-like weather in the Fall (or at all, really). What I am a fan of is baking with PUMPKIN! Even though I’ve been making goodies like pumpkin chocolate chip cookies, I feel okay about it because I’m including a nice serving of vegetables. Sneaky, sneaky.

1014 012

Pumpkin has a lot of health benefits, as you might imagine. It’s low in calories, full of betacarotene (for healthy eyes and pretty skin), high in potassium (which keeps your heart healthy) and is packed with antioxidants.

Over the weekend, my Dad’s cousin invited our large family over for a little reunion. There was so much food – from appetizers to main dishes to a table full of desserts. My contribution was Pumpkin Cupcakes with Cream Cheese Frosting as seen in Real Simple.

1014 008

The recipe calls for a box of yellow cake mix so I was able to make my batch gluten-free by using Betty Crocker’s new cake mixes.   You can use any yellow cake mix but I made these so my Dad could enjoy them (he has Celiac Disease). Baking these cupcakes was very easy and the frosting was simple as well – just a little messy but I’m okay with that. The results were fantastic – super moist cake with a sweet cream cheese frosting. Delish!

1014 013

While you can frost the cupcakes anyway you choose, I decided to break out my cake decorating kit and go to town. I think they turned out cute!

Try this recipe – it’s pretty fail proof and the outcome is delicious. Go Pumpkin!

1014 001

1014 002

1014 003

1014 004

1014 015

1014 017

1014 011

 Do you know anyone with Celiac Disease? If affects 1 in 144 people.

