Don’t you agree? I think it’s the name – Meat. Loaf. I mean, really, who wants to eat a loaf of meat? Ick!

1020 008

Meatloaf was that lunch in the school cafeteria that smelled a little funny and nobody would eat. You know, scary mystery meat!

But to be honest, I like meatloaf. Especially when I make it (it’s not a mystery that way). Weirdly enough, meatloaf was one of the first dinners I made when I graduated college and had a place of my own. Back then, I followed this recipe for Glazed Meatloaf II from allrecipes.com.  It came out good! I remember being so impressed with myself. It was moist and flavorful with a nice tangy sauce.

Over time, I made it again but it became healthier – I used whole wheat bread, half ground turkey/half ground beef, and two egg whites instead of an egg. It was still great and no one knew it was pretty healthy. Side note: guys tend to love meatloaf (and, meat in general). This is sure to be a hit with the guys and it’s (secretly) healthy too. 😉

1020 009

While reading Cusine at Home a few months ago, I came across a recipe for Skinny Meatloaf. It was very similar to my beloved Glazed Meatloaf but there were a few differences, including the use of a turkey/pork/beef mixture (I didn’t use pork), panko breadcrumbs instead of bread and mustard in the glaze instead of lemon juice. I had to give it a try (don’t hate me Glazed Meatloaf). It was super easy to prepare and I was excited to put this Skinny Meatloaf up to the test. Could it replace old Glazed II?

The Results?

A tie! Both meatloaves are delicious. Really. I am going to learn to love them both. The flavors are both very similar and both recipes produce a tasty moist meatloaf. I served the Cuisine at Home Skinny version with sauteed spinach. It was a great weeknight meal and left me with lots of leftovers. Health-wise, the Cuisine at Home version has 250 calories for two 3/4 inch slices. Not bad at all!

While I can’t share the recipe for the Cuisine at Home version (the recipe isn’t online but other free recipes are – click here), the allrecipes.com version is available for your cooking pleasure. If you’re interested in trying the Cuisine at Home version, email me!

1020 002

1020 004

1020 006

1020 007

Do you like meatloaf? Or am I the only one?

