Someone recently said to me that I seem to make a lot of “stuffed” recipes. Of course this was after I’d just prepared Caramelized Onion-Stuffed Baked Potatoes. 😉

1020 018

Looking back at my recipe listing, I realized that, so far, I’ve posted PB-Stuffed French Toast with Bananas, Quick and Easy Stuffed Quesadillas, Stuffed Acorn Squash, Stuffed Spinach & Feta Turkey Burgers, and Summer Stuffed Peppers. I never realized it but I guess I’m all about “stuffed” dishes.

My most recent recipe, Caramelized Onion-Stuffed Baked Potatoes, came from Cooking Light. While I’m not a huge fan of baked potatoes in general (they tend to be kind of bland in my opinion), this recipe caught my eye because the ingredients included cheese and caramelized onions. Aren’t caramelized onions just delicious?! I love the texture and sweet flavor plus they are so easy to prepare. So much better than raw onions!

This dish calls for Gruyere cheese but I replaced it with crumbled blue cheese – just because it’s what I had in the fridge. I’m sure any cheese would work well.

1020 016

Not only was this dish tasty, (the combination of sweet onions, savory cheese and smooth potato was excellent), but it opened my eyes to what other ingredients could be stuffed into potatoes. How about prosciutto and fontina cheese? Mmm. Or BLT-stuffed potatoes?

You can prepare these potatoes as a side dish (a serving = 1 half potato) or as a meal (a serving = one whole potato). Either way, you’ll be stuffed!

What’s your favorite stuffed dish?

