I haven’t done a lot of cooking this week but that doesn’t mean I haven’t been eating well (and by well, I mean great tasting food, through not completely healthy). Tuesday was my birthday so dinners out and birthday cake was on the agenda for earlier this week.  

On Sunday night, I had dinner with my family at a small Italian restaurant in Shrewsbury, MA called Amici’s. I hadn’t been there in years but remember the food being great. We started with a family-sized antipasto (delicious!) and after some indecision, I ordered the Risotto Pignoli. It was a tasty combination of toasted pine nuts, garlic, sundried tomato & spinach mixed with melted boursin cheese. It was enough for three meals, literally.

Nov1 010

For dessert, birthday cake! My family brought a chocolate and vanilla layer cake with peanut butter filling and vanilla frosting. It was moist, sweet and the perfect birthday treat. Check out the photo below…it’s even decorated with the November flower, chrysanthemums.

Nov1 011

On my actual birthday, one of my friends stopped by my office with cupcakes. The perfect afternoon birthday snack! Then, some of my college friends treated me to dinner at Lil Vinny’s in Somerville. Yes, more Italian food! I discovered this restaurant when I first moved to the Boston area and while it’s a hole-in-the-wall kind of place, the interior is very cute and the food is consistently delicious. I ordered what I always do, Stuffed Eggplant with homemade fusilli. It’s a large portion of breaded eggplant, stuffed with red peppers, spinach and cheese and then topped with marinara and more cheese. It’s like a superior eggplant parm!

Let’s just say I returned to my normal eating habits on Wednesday and I actually cooked dinner last night. I’ll be posting that tomorrow!

What’s your favorite birthday restaurant or meal?

