I was excited to get back to cooking dinner after my birthday celebrations. I just have so much more portion control at home. ūüôā

Nov5 011

On Wednesday night, I made a Baked Cod Casserole that’s been sitting in my “favorites” folder for a month or two now. I like to cook fish because it’s healthy and quick. It can get boring, however, which is why I’m always looking to try new recipes. I normally stick to cooking white fish because it’s my favorite. Tilapia, halibut, cod, it’s all good to me. I do think I need to branch out and try cooking salmon because I only tried it once and didn’t like it.¬†Salmon is¬†so healthy and people rave about¬†it so I must be missing something. Does anyone have a good salmon¬†recipe for me to try?

Back to my cod casserole, I cut this recipe in half so I had two servings. It was a very straightforward dish to make and while it had a few more steps than average, dinner was still on the table in 30 minutes. The results were pretty good! I used Gruyere cheese and whole wheat bread in the topping, which turned out to be nothing special but added a little extra flavor and crunch. I really enjoyed the flakiness of the fish. It was fresh from Whole Foods and I really think it came through in the flavor.

Nov5 009

If you’re looking to get creative with traditional fish recipes, try this one! You could really use any type of cheese and I’m sure it would turn out great. Oh, and I made broccoli as a side dish. I sauteed¬†a little olive oil and¬†garlic, added the broccoli with a few tablespoons of water and covered¬†the pan for about three minutes. I¬†tossed the broccoli¬†with red pepper flakes¬†and wa-la, a tasty side¬†with¬†zing!

Nov5 001

Nov5 004

Nov5 006

Nov5 008

Nov5 012

I haven’t been able to check too many of my favorite blogs this week but I did come across one Friday Fave that I want to share. It’s also a fish dish (with butter!) so I thought it went with today’s theme…

It feels like Lent with all this fish on Friday. ūüėČ Have a great weekend!

 

