Have you ever heard of ebelskivers before? I hadn’t until I recently saw an ebelskiver pan at Williams-Sonoma. Ebelskivers are a Dutch treat, also known as filled pancakes.  

Nov9 047

As a birthday gift from my parents, I received the ebelskiver pan from Williams-Sonoma and the related cookbook. At first, I was intimidated by the thought of making these because they seemed so delicate. But, as fearless as I am, I had my first experience making ebelskivers over the weekend and they came out great!

Nov9 057

I started with a basic recipe, chocolate chip ebelskivers. The recipe was pretty simple and I love chocolate chip pancakes so I figured this would be a perfect dish for an ebelskiver rookie like me.

Nov9 054

Nov9 055

The entire process from mixing the batter to getting the dish on the table was less than 30 minutes flat. These really are just like mini, fluffy pancakes. The texture is light and the flavor has a touch of sweetness. I ate them warm and they were just delicious. I can’t wait to try making more!

Basic Batter Recipe (from Williams-Sonoma)

2 cups all-purpose flour
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
1 tbsp sugar
4 eggs, separated
2 cups milk
4 tbsp unsalted butter, melted, plus more for cooking
1/2 c. mini chocolate chips (optional)

1. In a bowl, whisk together the dry ingredients. In another small bowl, lightly whisk the egg yolks, then whisk in the milk and the melted butter. Whisk the yolk mixture into the flour mixture until well combined. The batter will be lumpy.

2. In another bowl, using an electric mixer with the whisk attachment, beat the egg whites on high until stiff but not dry peaks form, about 2-3 minutes. Using a spatula, gently stir whites into the batter in two additions.

3. Put 1/4 tsp butter into each well of the Ebelskiver pan. Set over medium heat and heat until butter begins to bubble. Pour 1 tbs batter into each well. Pout 1 tsp of filling into the center of each pancake and top with 1 tbsp batter. Cook until the bottoms are golden brown and crisp, 3-4 minutes.

4. Using 2 wooden skewers, flip the pancakes over and cook until golden and crisp, about 2 minutes more. Transfer to a plate, repeat with the remaining batter and serve.

