Is it just me or did the weekend fly by? I feel like I just blinked and it went from Friday night to Monday morning. I shouldn’t complain though, I did have a pretty busy and fun weekend for the most part. 

Nov16 009

Over the past week or so, I’ve been organizing my cookbook and recipe collection (dorky, huh?). I’ve been throwing out old magazines that I don’t need and putting my cookbooks and binders into a nightstand-turned-end table I have in my living room. One of the cookbooks I found was “Better Homes and Gardens New Cookbook” that I’ve had for years. I normally gravitate towards specialty cookbooks but this one deserves a shout out. I started looking through it and it’s great! Similar to the “Joy of Cooking,” it contains traditional American recipes and should be a cookbook staple in anyone’s kitchen.

Nov16 011

Last night, before I had a date with my couch to watch Desperate Housewives, I baked up some blondie brownies from the Better Homes and Gardens cookbook. I normally favor chocolate desserts whenever I have the chance to bake but blondies are one exception. While they do include chocolate, it isn’t the basis of these brownies. They were simple to throw together and turned out perfect – gooey, sweet and delicious. A real treat!

To remove the brownies from my house share the love, I brought them to work today. Who doesn’t appreciate a homemade brownie to get the week going?

Try these brownies, they are truly yummy.

Blondies

(From the Better Homes and Gardens New Cookbook)

Ingredients:

2 c. packed brown sugar

2/3 c. butter

2 eggs

2 tsp. vanilla

2 c. all-purpose flour

1 tsp. baking powder

1/4 tsp. baking soda

1 c. chocolate chips

1 c. chopped nuts

Preparation:

1. Grease a 13x9x2-inch baking pan, set aside.

2. In a medium sauce pan, heat brown sugar and butter over medium heat until the sugar dissolves, stirring constantly. Cool slightly.

3. Stir in eggs, one by one, and vanilla. Stir in flour, baking powder, and baking soda.

4. Spread batter in prepared baking pan. Sprinkle with chocolate and nuts. Bake at 350* for 25-30 minutes.

5. Cool slightly on a wire rack. Cut into 36 bars while warm.

Nov16 001

Nov16 002

Nov16 003

Nov16 004

Nov16 006

Nov16 008

