I never remember eating Brussels sprouts growing up but discovered them once I was living on my own. I’m always looking for healthy and simple side dishes!

I’ve made Brussels sprouts a bunch of times, always the same way. I first cut them in half and place them on a baking sheet. I then brush them with olive oil and minced garlic and sprinkle a little salt and pepper on top before roasting them at 350* for about 20 minutes. They turn out perfect, if you like Brussel sprouts that is!

Last night, I expanded my use of Brussel sprouts by including them in a pasta dish. I actually saw a recipe for Penne with Brussels Spouts and Bacon on Boston.com. Boston.com actually has a pretty decent Food section online but this is the first recipe I’ve tried from the site. Based on the results, I already have another recipe from the site lined up for tonight.

I love pasta dishes and bacon makes anything better so I figured this would be a tasty dish and it was. I recently discovered that Whole Foods sells center cut bacon by the strip at the meat counter. This was an exciting find for me because when I normally buy a package of bacon, some of it normally goes to waste. Not this time, I just ordered what I needed for this recipe. 

This weeknight dish was easy to prepare and had a nice light flavor. Brussel sprouts have a distinct taste on their own but worked really well in this dish. And, as expected, the bacon was a welcome addition!

What’s your favorite vegetable side dish?

