Looking to do a good deed this Thanksgiving? Donate just $12 to the Great Boston Food Bank’s Turkey Drive and they will give a family in need a 12-14 lb. turkey for their feast. Over 2,800 turkeys have already been donated but they have a long way to go! Donate today.

Off my soap box, and onto today’s post.

Some of my friends are part of a cooking club – they get together monthly and have a pot luck-type dinner with a theme. I joined them on Wednesday for November’s dinner, which had a fitting theme, Thanksgiving. Everyone did a great job contributing to our delicious and filling meal. I thought it would be fun to give a little recap to get everyone in the Thanksgiving spirit.

We started the meal with appetizers and wine.

Moist chicken meatballs and a brie and praline dip (wine not pictured)…

With the table set nicely, we were ready to eat. (I’d never be able to fit this table in my apartment, how sad!)

The feast included: creamy, smooth butternut squash soup…

Moist and flavorful turkey…

and a bunch of side dishes. Here’s my plate:

(descriptions clockwise: green beans, sweet potato tempura, baked stuffed shrimp, turkey and gravy, stuffing (with sausage, nuts, and cranberries), homemade cranberry sauce, and chipolte mac and cheese)

Of course, we can’t forget dessert. We ended the meal with a vanilla layer cake with peanut butter filling and chocolate ganache frosting (delicious!) and…

Apple crumble pie (made by me; recipe to be posted this weekend) and cookies too…

Phew! I’m full just thinking about the meal but it was really tasty and a nice weeknight treat.

Now, Friday Favs. With Thanksgiving coming up next week, I thought I would do a desserts theme this week, since that’s what I’ll be making. If you don’t have your menu complete or are in need of something to bring for Thanksgiving, these should do the trick. How about…

Happy weekend!

