I told you I’d be back with a healthy recipe today so here it is: Tortellini-Spinach Soup from Ellie Krieger’s new book, So Easy.

Maybe this book should be called “So Tasty” instead because this soup is really delicious. I’m not usually a big soup person. I like it but I just don’t crave soup like I crave…let’s say…chocolate. I’m not sure if many people crave soup but either way, this is one to try. This soup is chock full of vegetables and the tomatoes and tortellini add a nice flavor and texture element. Soups with pasta are a bonus in my book. Wherever I can sneak in pasta, I do.

I received this cookbook from my brother for my birthday last month and I’m so glad I did. There are so many recipes I want to try and most of them are suitable for a weeknight meal. Chicken-mushroom quesadillas, garlic-basil shrimp, proscuitto-wrapped cod, fruit salad with honey lime dressing….anyone getting hungry? 

A good portion of the recipes have photos, which I love, and all have nutrition facts – another bonus! This is a book that anyone interested in cooking and eating healthy, but simple, meals would enjoy. Chistmas gift idea!

With the winter almost upon us, a pot of this soup is a great meal for a chilly night. Enjoy!

Tortellini-Spinach Soup

(Serves 4; from So Easy by Ellie Krieger)

Ingredients:

1 tsp. canola oil

1 medium onion, chopped

2 cloves garlic, thinly sliced

2 ribs celery, chopped

1 tsp. dried oregano

1 tsp.  dried thyme

1/2 tsp. crushed red pepper flakes

1 14oz. can of low sodium diced tomatoes with juice

6 cups low sodium chicken or vegetable broth

3 oz. baby spinach, sliced into ribbons

1 9oz. package of spinach and cheese tortelli (2 cups)

1/2 c. grated Parmesan cheese

Preparation:

1. Heat the oil in a 4 or 6 quart saucepan over medium-high heat.  Add the onions and cook, stirring, until softened, about 5 minutes.

2. Add the garlic and cook, stirring, until the onions are translucent and the garlic is softened, another 3 minutes. Add the carrot, celery, oregano, thyme, and red pepper flaes and cook, stirring, until softened, 5-6 minutes.

3. Add the tomatoes with their juices and the broth and bring to a boil; reduce the heat and simmer 10 -15 minutes. Add the spinach and tortellini and cook until tortellini is cooked through, 6 minutes.

4. Top with Parmesan cheese and serve.

What is your all-time favorite soup? Mine is clam chowder or French onion soup…but this tortellini one is my favorite homemade soup!

