For Christmas this year, I asked Santa for Pioneer Woman’s cookbook, The Pioneer Woman Cooks: Recipes from an Accidental Country Girl. I was so excited when I opened the book on Christmas morning. All of the recipes looked amazing and I just love reading about Pioneer Woman’s life on a cattle ranch. She’s pretty popular in the blog world and for good reason. She’s funny, creative and just a nice person!

On New Year’s Eve, my friends hosted a pot luck dinner and I brought the main course. It was a great time to try one of Pioneer Woman’s recipes since most of her meals are suited for more than just one or two people. Plus, lasagna is usually a crowd pleaser because it’s tasty, filling and something most people enjoy. I expected this one to be a big success!

Pioneer Woman’s “Best Lasagna. Ever” (the recipe is also on her website) was pretty darn good and I was really pleased with the turnout. The lasagna was hearty, bursting traditional flavors. I’ll be making it again for sure. (Note: I followed te recipe as written but omitted the sausage, just because.)

 

