I recently joined the Craving Ellie in My Belly (CEiMB) online cooking club. The group cooks their way through Ellie Krieger’s two cookbooks, The Food You Crave and So Easy – both which I now own.

In addition to be a cookbook author, Ellie hosts a show on the Food Network, “Healthy Appetite” which focuses on delicious and nutritious meals. In joining the online group, you’ll see me posting the weekly recipe each Thursday (unless I choose not to participate that week). Most of the upcoming recipes look awesome but there are a few that will come along that I know I won’t be interested in. I hope you enjoy my CEiMB post this week and every Thursday!

Ready for this week’s recipe? It was a good one! Arugula, Caramelized Onion & Goat Cheese Pizza. Oh yeah, pizza for my first week. I’m a big fan of all of the ingredients for this recipe but never made a pizza on a whole wheat tortilla. In fact, I normally only order pizzas with red sauce so this was a great opportunity for me to branch out.

I thought the tortilla may be bland but my pizza turned out crispy and full of flavor. I didn’t miss the red sauce at all! If you like thin crust pizza, then this recipe is for you. The sweetness of the onion blended well with the arugula and cheese. The meal is definitely on the lighter side but I had it for dinner and was satisfied. I’m glad Ellie opened my eyes to tortilla pizzas and I’m looking forward to getting creative with all toppings that could work. 

 

