Another Craving Ellie in My Belly recipe! This week it was Alyssa’s (from Alyssa’s Two Bites) pick and she chose Ellie’s Emerald Stir Fry with Beef  recipe, which is in the newest cookbook, So Easy.

I love stir fry recipes because they are so easy, healthy and versatile. You can use a variety of proteins – from beef to chicken to shrimp plus the choice of vegetables and sauces are endless. And, you don’t really need a recipe.

But, for this recipe, I bought grass fed beef from Whole Foods (a bit more expensive but worth it for taste and quality). I also gathered the vegetables for this recipe from Whole Foods produce department. The one I go to in Cambridge (Fresh Pond), now has what I like to call a stir fry bar where you can package your own prepared veggies. This is in addition to a large salad bar on the other side of the store. When I was there, they had a variety of chopped mushrooms, bok choy, broccoli and green beans. I’m not a huge fan of asparagus (which this recipe calls for) so I got a variety of other veggies for my stir fry. I also picked up some frozen edamame – as the recipe suggests. I’m not sure I would have thought to add edamame in a stir fry dish but it was a welcome addition!

The preparation was pretty quick and painless. I had the rice going in one pot as I cooked the beef and vegetables. Dinner was ready in no time and the results were great! The flavor of the sauce was light and not too salty. I think the freshness of the beef and vegetables really made a difference and paired with brown rice, it was the perfect weeknight meal. On a side note, I halved the recipe which still allowed for some leftovers (which were just as good the next day).

