We made it to Friday, phew! I’m so ready for the weekend. I have some Super Bowl cooking to do!

Speaking of cooking, yep, I’m actually posting a RECIPE today. It feels like it’s been weeks since I’ve posted one!

This week I made a whole chicken in my slow cooker. I know, I know, BORING chicken. But it doesn’t have to be. Do have a slow cooker (aka Crock Pot)? I love my Crock Pot, I’m just in awe of all the different recipes a Crock Pot can slow cook.

In the blog world, my favorite site for slow cooker ideas is A Year of Slow Cooking. The blogger, Stephanie, used her slow cooker EVERY DAY in 2008 and blogged about it. She still posts new recipes quite often and I enjoy reading about her adventures in slow cooking. I’m a dork.

Anyway, recipe time. This Simple Slow Cooker Chicken is really, well, simple. It’s quick to prepare and then you can set it and forget it. Now I sound like a Ronco infomercial! Does anyone actually have one of those rotisseries?  Why would you need one when you have a Crock Pot?! 😉

What I like about this recipe is the fact that it takes 10 minutes to prepare and you can return after a full day’s work to a moist chicken waiting for you. And, a whole chicken means a lot of meat. Not to sound like a line from Forrest Gump, but think of all the things you can make with chicken. Chicken salad, chicken noodle soup, chicken broth! The list goes on and on.

This time, I bought a whole organic chicken from Whole Foods. It was 4.5 lbs. and cost $11. I know it was a bit pricey but for me, it’s worth it to buy quality, humanely raised chicken.

What I don’t like about this recipe is the fact that I had to touch the raw whole chicken. It really grosses me out but I won’t go into details. Let’s just say I wash the chicken as quickly thoroughly as possible! Hopefully I’ll get used to it over time but right now, I could do without touching the raw chicken body. Did I scare you away yet? No need to be scared, really.

For this recipe, I layered the bottom of the crock pot with chopped up carrots and celery as well as pearl onions. How I love pearl onions!  Once the chickie was bathed, I showered him/her/it with a little salt, pepper, and poultry seasoning. I also added a little fresh thyme under the skin and in its…um…cavity. Oh my, I’m reliving this! Really, the results are worth it. I’m just a wimp.

Once the chicken is ready, plop it on top of the veggies. Cover the slow cooker, set it to low, and cook it for 7-8 hours. You will return to a lovely home cooked dinner!

Simple Slow Cooker Chicken

1 whole chicken (4-5 lbs.)

½ c. carrots, chopped

½ c. celery, chopped

10 pearl onions (mine were from a jar)

Salt and pepper, to taste

Poultry seasoning, to taste

Fresh thyme

  1. Place chopped vegetables at the bottom of the slow cooker.
  2. Remove the bag from the chicken cavity and thoroughly clean the chicken. Pat dry.
  3. Sprinkle salt, pepper and poultry seasoning on chicken and in cavity.
  4. Stuff a few sprigs of fresh thyme in cavity and under the skin (by cutting a slit in the skin first).
  5. Put the chicken in the crock pot and cover.
  6. Set the crock pot to low and cook for 7-8 hours.
  7. Put chicken on a cutting board and cut accordingly.
  8. Enjoy!

The night I made this chicken, I enjoyed a nice chicken dinner with Whipped Sweet Potatoes (the White House’s recipe!). Delish! You’ve gotta try this recipe.

But, with so much leftover chicken, I need to decide what else to make. Since I love sandwiches, I decided to make chicken salad for lunch the next day. In the mix:

  • Shredded chicken
  • Light mayo (a tablespoon or so)
  • Chopped walnuts (a tablespoon or so)
  • Dried cranberries (two tablespoons?)
  • Black pepper (a pinch)

Mix it all up and put between two slices of bread. So tasty! There’s nothing better than moist chicken mixed with a sweet and crunchy texture of cranberries and nuts!

For the rest of the week, I’ve topped salad with chicken (a lean protein – the perfect topping to a healthy meal) and even added on a homemade pizza. The opportunities are endless. Chicken isn’t so boring after all.  

But, the big question is…what are you making for Super Bowl?

Enjoy the weekend!

