The weekend is so close, I can almost taste it. Do you have big Valentine’s Day plans this weekend? No romantic dinners for me this year. I am actually attending a Valentine’s-themed bar crawl on Saturday in Boston. It should be funnn!

Anyway, back to what really matters. Food. This week’s Craving Ellie in My Belly recipe was selected by Blair at Deliciously Golden and it was a good one. Marinated Flank Steak with Blue Cheese Sauce. I used to think chocolate made anything better then it was peanut butter, and now blue cheese. Blue cheese makes anything better. It’s just so sinful and tasty. Luckily Ellie’s recipes are healthy so didn’t over indulge on the blue cheese…besides taste testing the sauce, that is. 😉

I followed the recipe as written with just a few minimal changes. I halved the recipe to yield two servings (versus four) and replaced the radicchio with spinach. My local Stop ‘N Shop didn’t have radicchio. Weird? Is there a substitute? I didn’t know of one off hand when I was standing in front of the leafy greens. Instead of reaching for my Blackberry to do some research, I just grabbed an old favorite. Spinach. I love me some spinach so it worked. I really liked this recipe, it tasted gourmet-ish to me.

I even went the extra step and made a quesadilla the next night with my leftovers. I piled the steak, onions, spinach and blue cheese on a whole wheat tortilla and let it crisp up for about 5-7 minutes. Delish!

I’m weary of next week’s recipe for chocolate mousse. I’m not normally against anything chocolate but this chocolate mousse calls for tofu. I know I should be daring but I’m just not a tofu girl. Do you do tofu?

Don’t forget to follow me on Twitter!

