I started my new job today so it’s been a busy Monday for me. It went really well and I met a lot of great people. The first couple of weeks of a new job are always tiring for me and I’m looking forward to getting into a new routine.

How was your weekend? It was beautiful in Boston both Saturday and Sunday. I did spend some time outside but my weekend was actually full of cake and frosting. In addition to attending the second part of my cake decorating class, I also baked and decorated my first layer cake for my grandmother’s birthday. I definitely have a new appreciation for professional bakers…the cake process was so time-consuming! Luckily, it turned out delicious so it was completely worth it. Phew!

In my class on Saturday, we made royal icing as well as two chocolate ganache frostings. Royal icing hardens once it’s piped so it works great for decorating cookies and writing on cakes. The ganache was pretty much chocolate mousse (yum!) and can be used to as cake fillings or frostings. We practiced a lot of writing with the royal icing and played with the ganache a little too.

Back at home, I made this chocolate layer cake for my grandmother’s birthday.  I made a two layer cake (instead of three) and baked a batch of cupcakes with the extra batter. Both turned out chocolatey and moist! I will definitely make this cake again.

For the frosting, I used a basic buttercream which consisted of a 1/2 c. softened unsalted butter, 3 c. sifted confectioners sugar, 2 Tbsp. skim milk and a teaspoon of vanilla extract. You can easily double or triple to recipe for additional frosting. I first frosted the cake and refrigerated it overnight before adding the decorations. To decorate the cake, I made a second batch of buttercream for the colored frosting.

To decorate the cake, I started by piping green leaves around the cake with the leaf tip.

I followed by adding purple flowers with the flower tip. To do so I held the piping bag upright, released frosting and stopped before pulling the piping tip off of the cake. I used the dot tip to add yellow centers to my flowers and also wrote on the cake with the dot tip. Surprisingly, it was pretty easy to write on the cake. 

Happy Birthday, Grammy!

Hope you have a great week with good eats!

