It’s Tuesday and the first day we’ve seen sun in Boston in about four days. The rain over the weekend was unbelievable! The annual St. Patrick’s Day parade was held on Sunday in South Boston. The weather really put a damper on the day but my friends and I still managed to have fun!

As you know, St. Patrick’s Day is tomorrow. While I am about 75% Irish, I have not cooked a lot of Irish dishes in my time. Growing up, we only ate corned beef and cabbage once or twice a year. But, one dish that I am very familiar with (and enjoyed more often in my childhood) is shepherd’s pie.

Depending on the recipe, shepherd’s pie can contain bacon, lamb and a variety of spices but my family keeps in pretty simple. I didn’t have my mom’s exact recipe on hand but I developed a similar dish fit for my lifestyle…mini shepherd’s pies.

Mini Shepherd’s Pies

Serves: 2                                                                                     

Ingredients:

2 baking potatoes

2 Tbsp. olive oil

½ white onion, chopped

1 c. mixed vegetables, fresh or frozen (I used frozen peas, carrots and corn)

½ lb. lean ground beef (I used 95% lean)

½ tsp. Worcestershire sauce

2 Tbsp. light sour cream

2 Tbsp. skim milk

1 Tbsp. butter

Salt and pepper, to taste

Preparation:

  1. In a saute pan, heat 1 Tbsp. olive oil over medium heat. Add chopped onions and cook for about five minutes.
  2. While the onions are cooking, cook the potatoes in the microwave. (First, stab potatoes several times with a knife. Lightly wrap the potatoes in a paper towel and heat in microwave for 6-10 minutes, until soft.)
  3. Once onions are soft, add mixed vegetables to saute pan to heat through and soften.
  4. At the same time, in another saute pan, heat another Tbsp. of olive oil and add the ground beef. Break beef up in pan and cook until no longer pink. Add Worcestershire sauce and a bit of salt and pepper to beef.
  5. Once the potatoes are done, mash them in a medium bowl. First, cut the potatoes open and scoop out the potatoes. Add sour cream, milk and butter to the potatoes and mix well. I used a hand mixer to make the potatoes creamy.
  6. In two mini casserole dishes, add equal amounts of beef. On top of the beef, add a layer of of the onion/veggie mixture. Top with a layer of mashed potatoes.
  7. Cook mini casseroles at 400* F for 15 minutes then broil for another five minutes until the potato topping is lightly browned.
  8. Enjoy!

How are you celebrating St. Patrick’s Day this year?

