I hope you’re having a great August so far. (Today’s my mom’s birthday actually – Happy Birthday, Mom!!) I’ve enjoyed a little vacation in Maine so far this month and I’m happy to report that it’s starting to cool down a little here in the Boston area. We’ve had a hot and humid summer and I’m excited for a little relief from the heat. Although, I’d take it over snow anyday. 🙂

The one nice thing about the summer is I’m able to catch up on reading books and magazines. I had a growing stack of cooking magazines that I was able to begin to tackle in Maine. It’s such a great way to relax – on the beach flipping through magazines.

I have been subscribing to Bon Appetit magazine for about a year now. While most of the recipes look delicious, I’m often intimidated by the number of ingredients or amount of preparation for some of the recipes. I’m always afraid that if I try a recipe, I won’t be eating dinner until 10 pm! That being said, I have a pile of Bon Appetit clippings of recipes I want to try…when I have the time.

In the June issue, a recipe caught my eye and I recently made it for dinner at my parents’ house. I’m a sucker for Asian-inspired dishes, including this one – Grilled Asian Chicken with Bok Choy, Shitake Mushrooms and Peppers. (Please note, the original recipe calls for radishes but I left them out. I also roasted the vegetables instead of grilling them). I especially like this dish because making the main dish prepares you to make a noodle dish with the leftovers…only if you don’t use up all the sauce like we did!  

This meal is pretty easy to prepare and takes three main steps – making the sauce, roasting the veggies and baking the chicken. When you’re done, you have a unique but delicious chicken and vegetable stirfry. This sauce was really tasty – lightly sweet with a lot of citrus and Asian flavors. The mix of vegetables added addiitonal flavor and textures and the chicken was moist. We used brown rice for this dish, instead of the recommended Asian rice.

I will definitely be making this one again and I suggest you try it too! It’s a light but filling dinner, great for a summer night.